When I started down this new lifestyle, it was more emotion than I had experienced with food in my life. I was sad, thinking about my future if I stayed on the same path; I was angry, who was really behind telling us what we needed to eat; I was scared, thinking how I was going to eat without all my favorite foods!! (now while pizza was not in my favorites, it is my husbands…so look at the end for a pizza recipe that is wonderful!!)
Now, I am inspired. Maybe it was because I was watching Jaime Olivers Food Revolution or the fact that I just finished reading “Wheat Belly”, an eye-opening book by a cardiologist who argues the transformation of what in the last 50 years has made it unhealthy for humans to eat. In any case, I am hardpressed not to speak to anyone who will listen about this new journey we have ventured. It is no longer a selfish journey that I am taking – I want more people to join me.

  • 1 in 4 people are obese in this country – Jaime Oliver
  • Celiac’s disease diagnosis has increaed fourfold in the past 50 years – “Wheat Belly (his blog)
  • Diabetes, heart disease and most digestive issues can be “righted” with a dramatic change in diet – “Why We Get Fat

What is causing all of these issues? Carbohydrates – refined, whole grains, starches and sugars. Don’t believe me? Cut them out for four weeks – see how you feel, what weight you loose, and if you are living with the diseases above, how the they are progressing.

I do not claim to be an expert; this is the lifestyle I live and I have done so for over a year now. The knowledge I have gained should be shared with those who want to know. Find some more recipes through the blog and let me know if you like them! They are not all my own, but I have tried each and every one.

*NOTE: By no mean should you take my opinions as medical advice.

———

Wheat-Free Pizza – developed by Wheat Belly author, William Davis M.D

(This was the first recipe we tried out of his book. Mostly because hubby has been really wanting pizza. Plus, he makes a killer sauce that we have not used lately. The crust is all veggie, so you can do a veggie pizza with this and be perfectly content. Although, the crust is not quite strong enough for you to hold the pizza – so break out your forks for use!)

wheat free pizza

1 head of cauliflower

3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil (or other non-hydrogenated oil)

2 large eggs

3 cups of shredded mozzarella cheese

Choice of meat toppings

12 oz of pizza sauce (no sugar or corn syrup added) or 2 cans of tomato paste (almost always no-carb!)

Fresh basil

fresh or dried oregano

Black Pepper

1/4 cup of grated Parmesan Cheese

In a large pot of boiling water, cook cauliflower until soft. This will take about 20 minutes. Drain cauliflower and transfer to large pot. Mash until the consistency of potatoes and eliminate as many “chunks” as you can/ Add 1/3 cup of oil, eggs and 1 cup of cheese and mix well.

Preheat the oven to 350 and lightly coat a pizza pan with oil. Pour cauliflower on the pan and press “dough” flat. You want it to be about 1/2 inch thick. Bake for 20 minutes.

Remove “crust” from oven and spread sauce, add toppings and more cheese (if you so desire). Bake until cheese melts, about 10 – 15 minutes.

Viola!

